Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Stick and Tissue Logo

HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Making Wing to Fuselage fillets (Read 2364 times)
Reply #7 - Jan 30th, 2018 at 7:47pm

alfakilo   Offline
Retired USAF and TWA.
St Louis, MO

Good looking fillets are hard, 'fer sure'!!

I've found that the trailing edge fillet poses fewer problems than the leading edge.

In the past, I've used spackling compound to make a fillet. After sanding it to shape, I applied a coat of dope to seal the surface.

My current build is a P-40B/C (the Flying Tiger model) from a Whitman plan. https://outerzone.co.uk/plan_details.asp?ID=7363

I've always liked the looks of this model of the P-40. Also, one of the P-40 units involved in the Pearl Harbor attack was the 78 Pursuit Sq...years later, I was a pilot in the 78
Tactical Fighter Sq flying A-10s in England.

I'm using the P-40 build as a chance to try out the techniques that I've learned about here...many thanks to everyone for their help!!

p40_78fs_b.jpg (82 KB | 9 )
p40_78fs_b.jpg
IP Logged

Reply #6 - Jan 30th, 2018 at 10:53am

New Builder   Offline
Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

AK - I just went out on RC Groups. com looking for the link and was unable to locate it, however the entire technique is right here on our site, you passed it on the way down here. The site is www.rcgroups.com and you will need to sign up and then you can scour the site. Just know, there are hundreds of topics by and about Pat Daily and Dave Rees. Happy reading and be sure to bookmark the site, lots of god stuff comes out of there.
New Builder
Mike

Have no fear of perfection - you'll never reach it. (Salvador Dali 1904 - 1989)
IP Logged

Reply #5 - Jan 30th, 2018 at 7:59am

alfakilo   Offline
Retired USAF and TWA.
St Louis, MO

Sky9pilot wrote on Mar 10th, 2015 at 9:44pm:
I highly recommend this tutorial... By Pat Daily that I found on RCGroups