Stick and Tissue Logo

HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Vacuum Form Platen (Read 167 times)
Reply #7 - Jun 21st, 2017 at 7:56am

New Builder   Offline
Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

Ian - I'm just getting started with my vacuum forming so have not tried anything but do have some cornstarch in my kitchen supplies an will use that when the time comes as chalk dust seems hard to find w/o creating it.

IP Logged

Reply #6 - Jun 15th, 2017 at 11:29am

pb_guy   Offline
So I'm just a kid at heart.
Youbou, BC, Vancouver Island

Yes, the info of baby powder is helpful. The baby powder used today is usually cornstarch because of the talc potential hazards. It seems strange that all of us were powdered with talc (as babies) without any lasting effects that we know of. It seems that modern babies are somehow more fragile. Anyways, cornstarch is an organic material, and is prone to cook to a sticky substance at relatively low temperatures. Chalk, however, is more of a mineral and should not have that problem. Have you ever used chalk dust as a release powder?
ian

IP Logged

Reply #5 - Jun 15th, 2017 at 9:00am

New Builder   Offline

Bob - A migraine, I cannot even imagine the problems that come with that, I get cranky with my allergy headaches. My SIL gets migraines and she is out of commission for at least 2 days so you have my condolences. As to the vac form top, the peg board looks like a great solution as I was thinking about 3/16 holes on a 3/4 x 3/4 grid, now I don't need to drill all those holes. Thank you for your help as always.
Tom - Thank you for the additional info as to the baby powder making a good mold release. It's getting harder to find after the lawsuit for talc causing problems.
BTW - I've tried to do some of my model work in the kitchen and oooh the feedback, glad I have a room for my model work and a workshop in the garage.
Mike

IP Logged

Reply #4 - Jun 14th, 2017 at 12:19pm

Sky9pilot   Offline
Administrator