Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Storing CA Glue (Read 86 times)
Reply #4 - Sep 23rd, 2018 at 11:03pm

bigrip74   Offline
Administrator
What did l do this time!
Austin, Texas

I have been storing my CA in the fridge since 1969. It keeps for quite a long time this way.

Bob

IF IT AINT BROKE DONT FIX IT!
IP Logged

Reply #3 - Sep 19th, 2018 at 8:45am

New Builder   Offline
Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

AK - Thank you for the link and same here, more wrong than right. Interesting to see storing with the cap off in a desiccated environment would work, so I'm off to locate some desiccant and start doing things correctly. I was part of the way there by using a small mason jar but beyond that...
Mike

Have no fear of perfection - you'll never reach it. (Salvador Dali 1904 - 1989)
IP Logged

Reply #2 - Sep 19th, 2018 at 3:24am

alfakilo   Offline
Retired USAF and TWA.
St Louis, MO

I found this helpful:

http://www.caglue.com/Frequently-Asked-Questions-about-CA-glue-from-Satellite-Ci...

I had the same problem with CA glues that didn't seem to "work" very well. What used to set up quickly wasn't anymore. I was using the typical Bob Smith Industries thin to medium gap filling types.

I asked the hobby shop folks who, as it turned out, didn't have a clue. The info in that link was much more helpful. It turned out that I was doing more things wrong than right.

IP Logged

Reply #1 - Sep 18th, 2018 at 3:43pm

Sky9pilot   Offline
Administrator
Stick & Tissue
Kelso, WA 98626 USA

My experience is that CA doesn't like hot weather.  Also exposure to air cause it to kick off/harden, so it needs to be capped right after using.  I quit buying the big bottles a while back, I found the small tubes at the Dollar Store usually three tubes in a pack for a buck!  That's just me.  When I lived in Texarkana, TX the hobby shop there did keep the stock of CA in the refrigerator during the summer hot and humid weather. 
Tom

If God is your Co-pilot...switch seats...