Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic B-29 (Guillow's #2005) Unboxing (Read 966 times)
Birddog63

Build! Fly! Enjoy!

Re: B-29 (Guillow's #2005) Unboxing
Reply #4 - Jan 15th, 2022 at 5:57pm
Print Post  
I was able to spend some time on the Superfortress.  I'm using 1/32" balsa sheeting for the covering.  This is my first time using this technique, so I took my time.  One lesson I learned was to expand the "landing" surface of the sheeting by gluing extra balsa pieces to the frame in order to help hold the sheet edges around the tight corners such as the leading edge.

I played with different wood fillers and putty's on practice pieces before starting on the wing.  I'm glad I practiced before moving to the actual wing.  I made quite a mess of the joints at first.  I settled on Mr. White Putty.  I'm pleased with the progress so far.

( 135 KB | 56 Downloads )
B-29_Right_wing_1.jpg
( 122 KB | 48 Downloads )
B-29_Right_wing_2.jpg
( 113 KB | 57 Downloads )
B-29_Right_wing_3.jpg

IP Logged

Birddog63

Build! Fly! Enjoy!

Reply #3 - Dec 5th, 2021 at 6:51pm
Print Post  
Thanks for the pic's and information on "Haggerty's Hag".  I love to hear stories about the old warbirds being restored.  As I've been doing research, I found two short article  in "Air Progress Warbirds International" from the spring of 1985.  The first story was about "Kee Bird" found in Greenland, and the second referenced "Ancient Mariner" which at the time was waiting for restoration.  I'll have to look further into each of these.  I believe I enjoy the mining for history as much as actually modeling.

Great story about Dale.  I can't even imagine what he was feeling as he was "flying through the darkness . . . ".

IP Logged

Kerak
5 Star Member

Build! Fly! Enjoy!

Reply #2 - Dec 4th, 2021 at 10:50am
Print Post