Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Cutting to Inside Curves (Read 5383 times)
New Builder
5 Star Member

Re: Cutting to Inside Curves
Reply #18 - Nov 11th, 2017 at 7:37am
Print Post  
Hi Bob - I don't cut up my plans either. I have been collecting plans for about 25 years and there are a lot of them, more than I will be able to build in this lifetime and maybe the next. I just copied the parts that would suit my new found skill and thank you again for that. Thanks to Richard (Last Woodsman) I now have a vendor that would copy and make PDFs of my plans and am on the quest to get them all done. This allows me not only to keep my plan collection on my remote hard drive but now I can enlarge to any scale I want and build Peanuts to Jumbo, wish I had found this a long time back.
Mike

"Skill comes by the constant repetition of familiar feats rather than by a few overbold attempts for which the performer is yet poorly prepared." Wilbur Wright

IP Logged

bigrip74
Ex Member

Reply #17 - Nov 10th, 2017 at 8:39am
Print Post  
Mike I print my plans on my printer then tape them together. I also so use the printer to either print more pages or just to copy those parts so I do not cut up the plans.

Glad to hear that Richard and I were of help Wink

Bob

IP Logged

New Builder
5 Star Member

Reply #16 - Nov 10th, 2017 at 7:18am
Print Post  
Quote:
I tried your method of cutting through the paper pattern and find it works great

Bigrip - Your tip works so well I've used it for cutting under cambered wing ribs, curved formers, wheel pants, almost anywhere I could think of. This has made my work so much easier. I would post some pictures of the build but I went into a lot of my plans and picked parts that seemed difficult. This plane would like Johnny Cash's Cadillac song, some parts from everywhere, maybe interesting but not something I would show any time soon.